Community Advisory Board Steering Committee

aerial view of downtown New Orleans and the Mississippi RiverThe ByWater Institute’s Community Advisory Board Steering Committee (CAB-SC) aims to foster an inclusive research environment that aligns with community needs and best practices. The Committee will provide guidance to BWI's community engagement efforts and inform the establishment of future research-specific Community Advisory Boards. 

The Committee also seeks to cultivate a pluralistic research stewardship approach that involves the community across BWI's programs. At its inception, the CAB-SC membership represents communities living or working in the lower Mississippi River Basin. Members are recruited based on relevant research opportunities/programs, with each member representing the diverse community oriented work happening across the Basin. As our community of practice expands the scope of their research, the geographic reach of the committee will expand accordingly. 


Arthur Johnson, Lower 9th Ward Center for Sustainable Engagement and Development

Rebecca Malpass, The Water Collaborative of Greater New Orleans

Scott Eustis, Healthy Gulf

Anne Rolfes, Louisiana Bucket Brigade

Devin DeWulf, Feed the Second Line

Franziska Trautmann, Glass Half Full

Dr. Angela M. Chalk, Healthy Community Services

Charles Allen, National Audubon Society

Asali DeVan Ecclesiastes, Ashe Cultural Arts Center

Amanda Moore, National Wildlife Federation

Marguerite Oestreicher, Habitat for Humanity

Darryl Malek Wiley, Sierra Club